A pretty difficult forum post I have to make.

fraroc

I have a really serious thing to admit to this entire forum.

I've lied to each and every single one of you.

I think it's only proper to admit something that I finally admitted to myself last night....I've lied to each and every single one of you. I'm not a real Rush fan, in fact I'm a total Rush noob. There is SO much I've never ever listened to. Some of which are pretty bare basics....I've never listened to Hemispheres, Cygnus, Fountain of Lamneth, Necromancer, By-Tor, Natural Science, I've never listened to 2112 outside the title track. I couldn't even tell you what any song on Caress of Steel outside of Bastille Day sounds like.

I couldn't name one song on Test For Echo if you played it for me. And outside of the basic tracks on any of the newer albums, I couldn't even tell you how they go or what they sound like.

In fact, the only albums I've fully memorized and know by heart are Signals, Grace Under Pressure, Power Windows, and Hold Your Fire. Everything else has songs I've never, ever listened to. Including one of my favorites, Moving Pictures. I've never listened to The Camera Eye ever in my life.

I would have never, ever would have listened to Jacob's Ladder if I wasn't bored one day and wanted to know what was so cracked up about that song.

So there, I've only listened to about a third, if not only a quarter of Rush's material. And when I joined, I knew even less. When I first joined, I probably only knew Tom Sawyer, The Spirit of Radio, Subdivisions, Limelight, Freewill, Fly By Night, Closer To The Heart, Xanadu and Witch Hunt.

You know what the worst part of this whole deal is? That I couldn't have just been a man and admitted that I knew almost nothing about them when I joined. I've only listened to more Rush out of sheer boredom and found that I loved them.

Edited by fraroc
  • Like 5