How Long Will It Take For You To Process CA?

presto123

It usually doesn't take me long at all. Maybe just a couple of spins and I usually know where a record will fall in my overall fav Rush records. I don't know if it's because I'm a musician and can make sense of the complexities right off the bat or not but there has only been one record that I didn't like that well at first and then I liked more later.(Test For Echo) Usually I can tell from the get go where a record will end up falling for me. I was slightly disappointed with SnA from the first listen and it remains toward the bottom of the Rush catalog for me to this day. I was super excited on my Power Windows first spin and it remains a top 5 for me to this day. How about you? Edited by presto123

Good question. For me, it varies. A few things, like VT, took years to really take hold. For others, like Presto, it was love at first listen. SNA took me a few months to really get into, Counterparts was very fast. T4E... I still don't like. Didn't care for it at first, and it never really grew on me very much (there are a few standout tracks, but overall, I don't dig it too much).

I have a feeling I'll like CA quite a lot upon first listen and it'll stay that way. The first three songs have been excellent.

It depends on the food I'm eating, and the shirt and shoes I'm wearing.

Seriously, though, I really think it will be pretty immediate. I loved all three of the songs that have been released, and continue to after tens of listens. That doesn't mean I won't pick up on nuances after repeated listens, but generally my first impression is difficult to overcome.

That being said, there have been songs I have grown to like after repeated listens. What I don't think will happen is that I'll fall out of love with anything I love at first listen.

QUOTE (danielmclark @ May 28 2012, 09:10 PM)