Florida bridge collapse

Relayer2112

I'm no engineer, but can anyone out there explain how this sort of thing can happen in the modern age? All the engineering feats that have been accomplished in this country and a brand new pedestrian bridge collapses, killing six people.

It appears that they were trying some new technique where they build the bridge next to the road and then rotate it when it was completed so that the road didn't need to be closed during construction.

The bridge was built to withstand hurricane force winds and ends up not lasting more than five days. I just don't understand.

I have no idea. All I know is that there is a very special young woman going to medical school down there (I'm in Virginia,) and I'm just glad that she is ok. My heart goes out to those who lost loved ones.
  • Like 4

"The $14.2 million FIU bridge was designed under a process called “accelerated bridge construction” that allowed for larger sections to be built and then lifted into place."

Seems like a bad idea.

• Like 2

Wow, it will be interesting to see who gets blamed for this one. Possibly miscommunication between the bridge designers and the group that moved the bridge into place (though you'd think that they would be one in the same).

"The $14.2 million FIU bridge was designed under a process called “accelerated bridge construction” that allowed for larger sections to be built and then lifted into place."

Seems like a bad idea.

It's not. It's actually fantastic applied correctly. We pioneered it here in Utah and have placed many new interstate overpasses and underpasses with it.

Beats closing an interstate for weeks. You can do it overnight and not even interrupt one day's commute traffic flow.

Our 6 pm news said that there are several newer bridges around central PA that are a similar design. All of them are now being inspected for safety. Glad to know that !