Twelve Albums That Changed Your Life

GeddysMullet

This is from a forum I used to frequent that is dead now. They had a thread called "12 Books That Changed Your Life," and creating a thread with this topic was my answer to that. I thought this might be an interesting thread for some of the music lovers here.

Inspired by the 12 Books thread. I read a lot, and there are many books that I love, but I can't think of very many individual books that I could honestly say changed my life. I could probably list 12 favourites, but that's different, isn't it? Record albums are a different story. Although I'm not a musician and in fact haven't got a scrap of musical talent, for some reason it's always been music that had a life-changing influence on me. Music has always been what has inspired me to create, has made me curious about life and people, and has driven me to try to better myself. I can't explain exactly how or why, but I can certainly pinpoint albums that have been particularly significant to me:

1. Sticky Fingers - The Rolling Stones

This album came out when I was 5 or 6 years old. I fell in love with the song "Brown Sugar" after hearing it on the radio, and insisted that my mother buy this album for me. I was a rock'n'roller from that moment forward, even though at the time I thought some of the songs on it were in a foreign language.

2. Don't Shoot Me, I'm Only The Piano Player - Elton John

Elton John was the first musical artist or band I was really into independently of the 60s rock and folk that was in the collections of my parents. This was never my favourite Elton John record, but it was the first one I heard and remembered. I lost interest in Elton after "Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy," which is still a friggin' great record along with "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road."

3. Led Zeppelin IV, aka The Runes Album