Newbie here

Shranexis0

I've listened to as many studio albums as I can, and I can drum a bunch of Rush songs exactly as is, correct cymbals, dauz pads, everything, but I still don't understand how they pull off their synth.

First, can someone tell me how Geddy pedals work, what the difference between moog, minimoog, and taurus is, what sounds from what songs are played on pedal and what on keyboard, how the pedals trigger the sounds, whether the sounds are controlled or sampled, etc.

Second, can someone tell me about the different kinds of electric drums, including shark pad, dauz pad, d-drum, etc.

Third, can someone tell me what synth Lifeson does?

Fourth, can someone tell me how a swish is different from other cymbals?

I'd really love to know how they pull off all this technology with three guys, especially on the Power Windows album!

Thanks.

Geddy's pedals:

These days Geddy uses a couple Roland midi pedal keyboard controllers to trigger Roland samplers. His hand keyboards also trigger samplers and various synth modules. All of his keyboards are used as remote keyboard controllers using midi.

Doctor Robert Moog (pronounced Mogue) created the first commercially availble synthesizer, the Moog synthesizer. It was a huge patchbay sort of thing that the player had to literally "patch" oscillators, resonators and filters using patch cables. This is where the term "patch" for synthesizer tones comes from. The second Moog synth ever built can be heard on the Beatles Abbey Road album. The mini Moog was a small self contained unit with a minimal keyboard (I think only 2 octaves). Geddy used this from around 2112 through Hemispheres. Moog also made Taurus pedals, which were initially used for bass notes when Geddy played the 12 string on his double neck (Passage to Bangkok, Xanadu). They later used higher notes to fill out their sound (all over Hemispheres, Permanent Waves, and Moving Pictures).