I just started playing drums.

Mustard Death

So, my little brother's birthday was the other day. And he got a drum set, finally. He's wanted one forever...

It's a five piece beginners set, but hey, it's regular size and all... so I figure I should make use of it as well. I'm probably going to take him to a music store someday soon and ask someone there what the best learning methods are (he's not going to take lessons from a teacher, as far as I know). And, I could possibly use those, but I'll be helping him get the best one for someone his age.

And... he's much younger than I am, so I'm here to ask what are some good ways to learn the fundamentals/theory/whatnot for myself?

If anyone knows any good books/DVDs/sites or anything else, please let me know... help is much appreciated.

thestand laugh.gif

Um, well.. Mustard Death I would just get him drum lessons. If he wants to learn that's probably the best way. Or like thestand said Anatomy Of A Drum Solo is good, but it's obviously too advanced for him. If you want to learn to play drums I suggest taking lessons. That's what I'm doing.. I've been playing drums since early 2002 and I've been taking lessons for 2 1/2 years, or around that general area. IMO, that's the way to start with drums or any other musical instrument for that matter. Lessons I think is your best bet.

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0764553577.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Everything you need to know in plain English.

Rudiments! Rudiments! Rudiments!!!!

If he's serious about making mastering percussion a long term goal then he should master the basics first. This is the voice of experience speaking. I was completely self taut for the few years I played and never got far beyond faking it. Do it right; from the beginning. applaudit.gif