Whose era do you like better?  

55 members have voted

1. 1. Whose era do you like better?

• Diamond Dave - David Lee Roth
    • The Red Rocker - Sammy Hagar

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well the way my thought goes is like this...

First off, I'm only 17. I haven't been into VH for very long, and the first albums I bought were Roth albums. Granted, I thought they were good, real good. But a lot of the songs sounded a lot alike to me, there wasn't much diversity in the band. (Being a musician, I like diversity! yes.gif) Well, at some point I bought 5150 and For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (both Hagar albums) and I really liked them both, especially the latter. I liked Sammy's voice also. I guess what hooked me the most about them was just that they sounded more mature so the music wasn't as straightlined as when DLR was singing, and more diverse.

The rest of you guys are like well, Roth had awesome stage presence! Okay, that's cool, but for someone who's young and has never seen them live, listening only to the records, that's how I deduct my thought. Maybe if I had been alive during that time and seen Roth perform, my opinion might be different. But oh well. That's just my two cents.

QUOTE (DoubleAgent420 @ Jun 30 2005, 12:04 AM)
Well the way my thought goes is like this...

First off, I'm only 17. I haven't been into VH for very long, and the first albums I bought were Roth albums. Granted, I thought they were good, real good. But a lot of the songs sounded a lot alike to me, there wasn't much diversity in the band. (Being a musician, I like diversity! yes.gif) Well, at some point I bought 5150 and For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (both Hagar albums) and I really liked them both, especially the latter. I liked Sammy's voice also. I guess what hooked me the most about them was just that they sounded more mature so the music wasn't as straightlined as when DLR was singing, and more diverse.