Freaks And Geeks

Bastille Dave

I watched this TV show about 10 years ago and never noticed it before. I recently watched a few episodes and It seems there is a Rush reference in almost every show I've seen. I stumbled across this show and the first episode I saw was the one with the drummer playing "Spirit Of Radio" about 10 times. The hopeful yet helplessly lost drummer guy is a huge Rush fan and is always sportin' some kind of Rush T-shirt.

I'm not a big "hey, a Rush sighting!" kind of guy but I thought this was kinda cool.

WHERE AND WHEN did this show air, originally? Was it on network TV? I'm watching this show on IFC now, I guess along with everybody else...Have only caught maybe three epis so far, but I can def. see the appeal of the show...

The timeframe that the show is set is only maybe a half-decade, or maybe a few years earlier than when I graduated. What year(s) is this thing set exactly?

They've obviously begun re-airing these epis because of who exactly is in this cast...A bunch of present-day star power is featured here...BIG NAMES NOW.

Seth Rogen, James Franco, Jason Segel. The female lead seems to be the only one who didn't go on to massive fame and fortune...Maybe she did...Maybe she's just in films that don't appeal to me.

You say that RUSH is referenced in pretty much every episode of this show, but ya got that Jason Segel in the cast...and this guy is obviously a huge RUSH fan. Segel played opposite Paul Rudd in "I Love You, Man"...and that entire movie was a RUSH reference.

Judd Apatow? That says it all? You know what movies this F'n Rock Star is responsible for? He's like the funniest mo-fo writer in the biz...Started professional life as a stand-up, but that didn't work out for him...He's really got no stage presence at all...But, his writing ability is otherwordly...