What was the first Rush song you learned

theworkingman

QUOTE (ifloveremains @ Apr 5 2008, 10:32 PM)
I have a bad habit of learning tidbits of many different songs instead of committing to one, but I'm still a beginner. I think I might go for Limelight though.

Nothing wrong with that... I have learned many a song that way over the years... trink39.gif

QUOTE (ifloveremains @ Apr 5 2008, 10:32 PM)
...still working on it.

I have a bad habit of learning tidbits of many different songs instead of committing to one, but I'm still a beginner. I think I might go for Limelight though.

I have done that also and still do. I learn the main riff and then maybe the verse and chorus and dont bother to learn the solo. Im sure youll get it though and good luck with Limelight! Thats a really fun song to play.

Subdivisions, because it had one of the only solos I could actually play laugh.gif

As for Limelight...I knew snippets of that one for a few years, and I'm finally starting to get the hang of the rest of it. Alex and his frikkin' weird chords... doh.gif

Edited by invisibleairwaves

For drums, I first learned Animate. I was so in love with that beat the first time I had heard it. And I still love playing that song, the only part I cannot play is that ridiculous fill Neil does towards the end.

As far as guitar, I learned my first song this weekend, Good News First. I have learned snippets of other tunes, but as others have mentioned, never comitted myself to learn an entire song.

biggrin.gif

Edited by xx2112xx

Yeah I was another one, always learning bits here and there but never sitting down and getting a full song sorted. Think my first on guitar was a very predictable Fly By Night complete with horrible off-key solo, once I'd got that sorted out properly and it sounded decent I learned Bacchus Plateau from The Fountain Of Lamneth and then...