Who is the next Rush??

Barchetta2112

I have just about everything that Rush have ever done on CD and DVD and love 90% of it more than any other music. I have the Working Man and Subdivisions tributes and enjoy them also. I have the Red Star Tribute which is a joke rofl3.gif . The Exit Stage Right tribute is surprisingly enjoyable. I am just getting into Dream Theater, Tiles and Coheed & Cambria.

Can anyone recommend other good bands preferably with a similar guitar style to Alex Lifeson?

Best regards. AlexFinal.gif

Who's the next Rush? A lot of people would tell you Dream Theater - and they'd probably be right - but I don't care for the vocals (too 'hair band') or the lyrics (too dark).

I prefer a Hard Prog band called Spock's Beard, although they're not really too Rush-like.

And has anyone heard of Paradigm Blue? Three-piece, Hard Prog, with Sci-Fi inspired lyrics.

QUOTE (PuppetKing2112 @ Apr 24 2006, 03:35 PM)
There is no Next Rush. Nor should there be. But mars Volta is what I would say if you want to check stuff out.

Indeed. The Mars Volta is as different and progressive as a rock band can be. They are taking music into an entirely new place. If they keep working they could easily become one of the greatest bands of all time.

Thanks guys.

I'm going to download some Reverse Engineers, Spocks Beard, Paradigm Blue, Mars Volta and Porcupine Tree.

Sorry Fridge, I tried a while back, but just could not get into Radiohead or Muse, but thanks anyway.

I agree with GeddyRulz about Dream Theater, I like them but could still enjoy them without James "The Hair" Labrie. They'd still have one more than Rush without making such a good sound. However, James does provide a little extra animation on the DVDs.

I just got Tile's first CD off ebay and could *almost* believe Alex Lifeson was playing on at least 3 of the tracks. After reading some online reviews, I am now awaiting two, more recent, Tiles CDs in the hope of more Lifeson style guitar work.