Rush and improv

GreatNorthSpecial

Hey guys, I am fairly new to Rush, been listing for about two months. I was wondering if they ever improvise in solos, or wherever. My number one band of all time is the Grateful Dead wub.gif , so you can see where I am coming from. Thanks!

QUOTE (GreatNorthSpecial @ Dec 28 2007, 01:01 PM)
Hey guys, I am fairly new to Rush, been listing for about two months. I was wondering if they ever improvise in solos, or wherever. My number one band of all time is the Grateful Dead wub.gif , so you can see where I am coming from. Thanks!

Welcome to TRF!

Rush is far from a jam band, which sounds like what you're accustomed to. They rarely improvise much; typically, if they do, it's because someone's having a technical problem and the other 2 fill time. They will have changed up parts of songs (like the extended jam in Closer to the Heart or Alex's rants in La Villa), but those are pretty consistent and structured.

I belief I have read where they said it was too important to them to give the same show to each audience each night to allow themelves the freedom to improvise. Speaking for myself, the onyl real downside is that if you collect the recording of each show, there's not going to be a lot of suprises. The upside, thoguh, is that you will get really solid, consistent performances every time out!

Welcome to the board!!

Long live 2.gif !!!

Good Lord!! I looked at your member profile...You were born when I started college!!!

Holy Crap!!!