A vision of students today

Slime

Students want to complain about how "bad" they have it.

I want to complain about bad students.

Some of this video is interesting. Certainly parts about "20,000 of debt after school" are things that may need to be addressed, but other things are just plain WHINING about things that don't matter. I fail to find ONE stat in this video that prevents a student from buckling down and doing the work.

I graduated in 2007.

I haven't seen the video (mainly because my comp is ultra slow). But about the 'whining about things that don't matter'...that could be said about ANYTHING. Most things don't REALLY matter. I've whined enough in my time and 99% of the time it was about stuff that didn't matter. No disrespect but complaining about bad students doesn't really matter either (and 'no' I'm not saying that you're whining).

I, and the video, mention a specific CONTEXT wherein the whining is unjustified. Let's not turn this into a philosophical debate about the universal meaning of whining. Let us instead talk about the specific points brought up in the video, and why THAT stuff is indeed whining.

I think whining is different from complaining. I hope I am doing the latter, because if students really feel this way (as seen in the video), then society is in a lot of trouble.

I didn't watch the video, but I can agree that there is no reason for students to not buckle down and work.

I'm in my first year, and I only have 8 hours contact time a week, with 6 of those coming on one day. Personally, I find it highly boring doing the things i'd normally do after school, recreational activities, for roughly 6 days a week.

Shhh!! Adults might hear you!! (I'm still in high school)

tongue.gif