Am I the only one...

hcm

I've been to 2 shows this tour. I really haven't listened to many on Periscope or Youtube, just been to the live shows. It seems to my ear that they might have tweaked Geddy's mic to 'help' with the high vocals of the second set. Or am I just way out there....?

Wouldn't surprise me but I haven't a clue to be honest. If true they should have done it from the beginning and especially during OLV...

I saw them in Boston. Geddy sounded the same as when I first saw them in late 1976. Some songs were dead on, others were not. Been that way for ever. So, no I don't think that his vocals are enhanced or fixed at any time. Now if they take a concert and bring it into the studio, then they might tweek his vocals somewhat.
  • Like 1

Lorraine I don't know if they can or not....I am not a musician, it just sounded like his speaking voice was higher in the second set than the first set to me.
  • Like 1

I've been to 2 shows this tour. I really haven't listened to many on Periscope or Youtube, just been to the live shows. It seems to my ear that they might have tweaked Geddy's mic to 'help' with the high vocals of the second set. Or am I just way out there....?

That I'm aware of, other than the obvious sound board settings, I believe the only other mic "tweaking" that would do what you're implying is auto-tune. Geddy doesn't use auto-tune.

So, to answer your question, YES, you're just way out there! :D

Lorraine I don't know if they can or not....I am not a musician, it just sounded like his speaking voice was higher in the second set than the first set to me.

Maybe his glottis was warmed up / stretched out sufficiently by then.

Nothing like a good ol' fashioned warmed-up glottis. With a side of uvula.