Geddy's R40 Basses (includes setlists)

r40 geddy basses

68 replies to this topic

#21 Merely Space

Merely Space

The Professor

• Members *
  • 3951 posts
  • Interests:Acting, music, gaming, model making, military history.

Posted 25 May 2015 - 03:15 PM

View PostEagleMoon, on 25 May 2015 - 01:34 PM, said:

View Postmrfriendly, on 25 May 2015 - 01:25 PM, said:

View PostEagleMoon, on 22 May 2015 - 03:13 PM, said:

View PostDel_Duio, on 22 May 2015 - 02:55 PM, said:

Geddy with the thunderbird looks.... wrong, somehow.

I thought that too. It looks funny on him. But then they are oddly shaped basses.

I am no expert on basses but that thunderbird model just doesnt seem to fit for songs like OLV/How It Is for me. Again I guess on any bass you shouldn't have drastic changes in sound, you are playing the same notes for that song maybe some differences in tone I guess? But still thunderbird just looks weird on him for OLV.

Could someone also help me understand how the double bass works exactly for Xanadu? I noticed on the new orleans video which is really good he plays the top part for most of it and I only saw him play the second part at the end I think. What exactly is the difference and is the whole thing more for show than anything? I imagine it would be since he played it fine on R30 with a normal bass.

The top part is a bass, the bottom is a guitar.

Geddy plays rhythm guitar while Alex does the outro solo.  It does result in a fuller sound for that part of the song.  It didn't matter for R30, because they played a truncated version that didn't have that part.

Edited by Merely Space, 25 May 2015 - 03:16 PM.

Sponsored Post

#22 rushbass

rushbass

The God Of Balance

• Members
  • 5973 posts
  • Interests:Music, Motorcycling, Auburn Tigers Football

Posted 25 May 2015 - 03:53 PM