Cloning a Hard Drive

Snowdog

My C drive in my desktop has been making some funny noises and after doing a bit of research, it seems the bearings are the culprit. I found a wav file of bearings going bad on a HD and that is the same noise my makes from time to time.

So, I'm guessing I need to replace this one before it completely dies. But I've never done this before.

From what I've read, the best option is to clone your old drive onto your new one before it goes. That way you don't have to reinstall the OS and all of programs and data.

I've found some freeware that will clone your drive, but I've never gone through the actual steps and am somewhat reluctant to tackle this and lose all my stuff through a stupid mistake I might make.

If anybody can give me some advice on the best way to tackle this, I sure would appreciate it.

trink39.gif

not sure about freeware, but Norton Ghost works well.......it creates an exact image of your drive.......then you restore that image to your new drive.

QUOTE (WCFIELDS @ May 2 2010, 05:22 PM)
not sure about freeware, but Norton Ghost works well.......it creates an exact image of your drive.......then you restore that image to your new drive.

Wish I'd known about Norton Ghost a few months ago...I had a hard drive start to fail and managed to get about 99% of the hard drive transered but the 1% contained something I really needed which is gone.

QUOTE (SiriusRushFan @ May 10 2010, 12:56 AM)
I used Acronis True Image when I got my new SSD to transfer my stuff over from my old HDD.

I found a free program called Macrium Reflect that was recommended in some online pc tech sites.

I have 2 500 GB hard drives in my machine and the 2nd one only contains the original factory configuration (which is Vista, I've upgraded to 7).

So, I used Reflect to do a complete copy of the primary drive onto my secondary.