So can YOU tell a difference?

clem

Enjoyed reading the thread started by Captain Avatar's "Neil's Drumming....What Gives", and it inspired me to ask some questions around topic that I've always been curious about, which are:

"Is there really that much of a difference between the different instruments (i.e. guitars) that the guys play when they're on stage?"

"If so, what exactly are they?"

"Is it more of a change in how the instrument sounds, or how the instrument feels when they play?"

Whenever I watch a Rush show, it seems as though Geddy and Alex frequently change guitars in between songs, and I, for the life of me, can't really hear any difference most of the time. If I were to close my eyes, I wouldn't be able to tell if Alex were playing the "red" one as opposed to the "black" one.

Now, as you obviously can tell, I'm no musician. I don't the difference between a stratocaster and a fendercaster. I always get a bit lost when people post things like "Wow! Geddy is now using an oberheim x87tk42 synth!"

I'm just really curious if there's that much of a difference. Any recommendations of listening to different performances with different guitars of the same song where one can really notice?

Clem

PS - Back in the 80's, I remember Geddy used to use a small, rectangular shaped bass (I think called a "Wal"). At one point, he ranted and raved how great it was. If that's the case, how come he doesn't use it anymore? Is it just that technology has changed?

Alex may change guitars due to needing different tunings, etc. Aside from that, a lot of it has to do with how the guitar feels and reacts for certain songs. He might need a guitar with a tremolo for one song, and then a guitar with a hard tail for another, as well. But generally, Alex is playing through such heavy distortion and other processing, you really won't wear any difference between guitars he will use.
  • Like 2