Neil playing his sticks backwards

djb

ok,

I looked around, but I need a definative answer with photographic proof. Does Neil prefer to play his sticks backwards?

As a drummer I find that so weird. I never noticed from the videos and concerts.

I thinmk he said he playes them right way round when doing sensitive stuff.

Does he ever use non-tapered sticks?

just plain weird I say....

Geddy has said he does that when he wants to "really rock". Wouldnt that give more power with the added weight on that end?

Neil said he did that as a kid since he plays soo hard hed break the tips off and tape them back on.

I have definitely observed him in some of the concert videos switching his sticks between "normal" and "backwards." All of that fancy stick twirling he does isn't just for show -- sometimes it actually has a purpose!

(And yes, I think the throwing of the stick in the air once each time through the pattern in "The Weapon" was functional too -- helped regulate the rhythm in the odd pattern he was playing. tongue.gif )

He used to play with his sticks backwards until Test For Echo when he switched to traditional grip (JAzz, Stewart Copeland, etc). After the long hiatus, he switched back to regular style, but this time with sticks rightside up. He still plays the left hand stick upsdide down sometimes in songs like Distant Early Warning, Dreamline and Secret Touch, Spirit Of Radio when he needs the BIG end of the stick for rim shots. Otherwise, he plays the regular way, with some trad grip bits for the slow part of La Villa, Driven, and parts of his drum solo.

QUOTE (Supersyl @ Aug 21 2007, 08:12 PM)