Some thoughts on Neil and prowess, etc..

coventry

A few Fridays ago my band finished up a gig and as I was having a beer, the horn player from the opening act came up and asked me, "Do you listen to Rush at all?"

This has happened many times over the years and, as a drummer, I know it's because other musicians and Rush fans can pick up on all the little Neil things I weave into my playing: ride patterns, certain 7 rhythms, staccato emphases, huge descending tom fills, and so on.

Okay. That last aspect isn't exactly "little", but there are few more fun things in rock drumming than that wonderful 8" to 16" descending tom roll to finish off a phrase. In fact, it's what saves "Limbo" at 4:06-4:10. In fact, I wonder what you all think is the best Neil tom-fill in the Rush catalog? But I digress.

Which brings me to my point based on all the myriad discussions of who's better, who's best in the percussion world and whether Neil can hold a candle to the bonfire of the pure jazz drummer or the professional concert percussionist, etc. There's no answer to these, though they're fun inasmuch as wanking's fun, but what's important is not how good Neil is or where he ranks on the hierarchy of drummers, but how influential he's been for 40 years.