A Song of Ice and Fire

The Owl

Hello all, any other fan of this fantastic series of novels? Gotta admit that I am new to the series... after watching the first season of Game of Thrones, I wanted to read the novel it was based off of.... I finished the first book, and am currently 200 pages into "A Clash of Kings"

I am loving this series, it is really hard to put it down...

I've read the first four a couple of times, and recently read the fifth. My take:

A Game of Thrones 9/10

A Clash of Kings 8/10

A Storm of Swords 10/10

A Feast for Crows 7/10

A Dance with Dragons 6/10

The first three books are brilliant. A Storm of Swords is one of the best fantasy novels I've yet read - so much happens in it, major events in almost every chapter. Tyrion, Arya, Jon Snow, Jaime and Cersei, Joffrey, The Hound - all fantastic characters, and loads more besides them.

Unfortunately, the last two books have hit a downward trend, imo, and it's going to be years before the next one to see if it picks up at all. I found ADWD a real chore to read - so many pages with so little happening, I was losing the will to live by the end of it.

I hope you enjoy them, but I'd prepare yourself for much frustration if I was you wink.gif

I started this series soon after a game of thrones came out in paperback, I wish i had bought a first edition hardback, those things are worth a mint!