Guitar newbie here

Rush Cocky

Hey everyone:

I'm new to the guitar realm, just learning to play. I've been diddling on other people's guitars, and realized it's time for me to get my own. smile.gif

I want to buy an acoustic guitar, but really have no idea what I am looking for. I don't need anything professional (as I am very far from that) but I would like something decent.

Thing is, I don't have a concept of what "decent" is in the guitar arena. Any recommendations of what to look for? I am thinking of maybe getting a deal on a used guitar at a local pawn shop, but I need some instruction on what to look for, and also what to avoid. I am on a budget too, by the way.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

I would try to avoid pawn shops if you don't know what to look for. The best advice is to take someone who knows with you. The two major things i would suggest are: 1) research "action" on the internet and check the guitar for proper action. Basically you want the strings close enough to the fretboard to play comfortably but not so close that they are touching frets. 2) Fret notes all over the guitar and make sure their is no "buzzing" sound. (caused by strings being too close to frets not being fingered. Good luck.

QUOTE (Ancient Ways @ Sep 7 2011, 03:28 PM)
I would try to avoid pawn shops if you don't know what to look for. The best advice is to take someone who knows with you. The two major things i would suggest are: 1) research "action" on the internet and check the guitar for proper action. Basically you want the strings close enough to the fretboard to play comfortably but not so close that they are touching frets. 2) Fret notes all over the guitar and make sure their is no "buzzing" sound. (caused by strings being too close to frets not being fingered. Good luck.

goodpost.gif

Make sure you take it to a luthier and get it set right for you. I can tell you from experience that trying to learn on a guitar with poor action is frustrating as hell.