Sourdough

Tull Fan Too

Lucky, I love eating it. I think if I cooked something the whole house would burn to nothing.

QUOTE (Tull Fan Too @ Jan 9 2008, 07:39 PM)
Is anyone here interested in making bread/ baked goods out of sourdough? I've just recently gotten into it and it's good stuff! smile.gif

LOVE sourdough bread!!

i do make it using my bread machine

but i haven't in a few months because i share custody of my bread machine with my oldest daughters father...

it's his turn for visitation at the moment laugh.gif

QUOTE (Tull Fan Too @ Jan 10 2008, 11:28 AM)
I've never heard of visitation rights for an inanimate object before. laugh.gif

I have no experience with bread machines, although my Mom has one that she uses occasionally. I make mine the old-fashioned way. smile.gif

well, it's one of those things...

BUT...

i found out today that we just "acquired" a bread machine of our very own!!!

common001.gif

For anyone who is interested in getting into sourdough, here is a little bit of a primer.

First you must create what is called a "starter". This is the basis of all your sourdough recipes. A starter is the home for your wild yeast.

Here are two ways to start a starter:

Milk Starter

Set one cup of milk in a room-temperature place (kitchen counter is good) for a couple of days, or until it smells sour. Then stir in one cup of flour. Let this sit until it starts to get bubbly (should take about 2-5 days).

Water Starter

Mix one cup of lukewarm water with one cup of flour. Let sit until bubbly (about 4-5 days).

If there are no bubbles in your starter by the fifth day, throw it out and start over. The same thing goes if colored mold starts growing on top. If your starter does get moldy, it usually means the mixture was too dry- use a little less liquid next time. (My starter is the consistency of pancake batter, or maybe a little thicker.) If at any time your starter turns pink or orange, throw it out- that usually means there is bacteria growing in it.