What is a MIDI bass?

H. P. L.

I am not a musician, I can't play anything, but sometimes I get interested in some techincal questions about Rush.

Reading here and there, I often find interviews about Geddy using MIDI bass in the 80s albums...

So what exactly is a MIDI bass? I picture it as a kind of synth-keyboard... But why use it instead of a bass guitar?

Also, is there some particular Rush song where you can hear this MIDI bass?

Just curious, hope nobody gets offended...

I believe he was referring to synth bass, played on a keyboard. Best example I can think of is "Roll the Bones" during the rap section. Essentially he was playing bass on the keyboard, during all of the 80s "synth-oriented" songs. Midi refers to a connectivity protocol that connects synthesizers, similar to a connectivity protocol that connects computers. It was common to use the terms Midi/Synth interchangeably in the late 80s.

Both he and Alex started playing Moog pedal synthesizers in the late 70's called Taurus which were used for "pads" which are long sutained notes and were sometimes called bass pedals. An early example is in A Passage to Bangkok and then Xanadu. In both of these cases Geddy played his double neck Rickenbacker bass and 12 string combo. During the guitar solos Geddy plays rhythm guitar on the 12 string while playing bass notes on the Taurus pedals. The Taurus could also play higher registers and can be heard on many other Rush songs into the 80's. Around the time of Permanent Waves and Moving Pictures midi technology had solidified. The Taurus pedals were modified to recieve and send midi data so that they could trigger other synthesizers. This evolved into them now using stand alone midi pedal keyboards that trigger sampler and synth modules off stage.

QUOTE (CygnusX-1Bk2 @ May 26 2006, 12:20 PM)