YYZ Video

Shranexis0

Everyone's seen the recent YYZ video of virtual Neil drumming on the ocean. I'm a drummer and I've got a question for all drummers who have attended a Rush concert and seen the YYZ video.

On the "chorus" I suppose of YYZ, the part that goes Eb-E-F#-A, where Neil moves from the open hihat to the ride, he does that riff with the ride-ride-snare-ride ride thing that he does in so many of his other songs (like the guitar solo in Subdivisions). On the video, virtual Neil does dome-dome with one hand, snare with the other, and dome-dome with the one again, like rightdome-rightdome-leftsnare-rightdome-rightdome.

Does he really play the song this way in concert? I would think it would be more practical to alternate his hands like a roll, rightdome-leftdome-rightsnare-leftdome-rightdome, especially with his alternating two feet on the double bass that occurs on the same 16th beats as the first 2 domes.

EDIT: Maybe I should have put this in the Video forum.

Edited by Shranexis0

QUOTE (Shranexis0 @ Sep 21 2005, 10:28 PM)
Everyone's seen the recent YYZ video of virtual Neil drumming on the ocean. I'm a drummer and I've got a question for all drummers who have attended a Rush concert and seen the YYZ video.

On the "chorus" I suppose of YYZ, the part that goes Eb-E-F#-A, where Neil moves from the open hihat to the ride, he does that riff with the ride-ride-snare-ride ride thing that he does in so many of his other songs (like the guitar solo in Subdivisions). On the video, virtual Neil does dome-dome with one hand, snare with the other, and dome-dome with the one again, like rightdome-rightdome-leftsnare-rightdome-rightdome.

Does he really play the song this way in concert? I would think it would be more practical to alternate his hands like a roll, rightdome-leftdome-rightsnare-leftdome-rightdome, especially with his alternating two feet on the double bass that occurs on the same 16th beats as the first 2 domes.