best rush cd's to buy

vitalsigns66

i am from australia. i am new to rush. i have 2 cd's moving pictures & permanent waves. also i just ordered signals. can any rush experts out there tell me in their opinion their best work.

Welcome to our happy Rush family! bekloppt.gif

Some of my faves are the later works, like CP, T4E, and VT.

If you like the proggish stuff like MP and PeW, check out earlier stuff like Farewell To Kings, Hemispheres, and especially 2112.

I also dig HYF and Presto, heck they're all good but the aformentioned might suit your tastes for a beginner.

QUOTE (vitalsigns66 @ May 8 2005, 08:26 PM)
i am from australia. i am new to rush. i have 2 cd's moving pictures & permanent waves. also i just ordered signals. can any rush experts out there tell me in their opinion their best work.

Remember, 2.gif is not AC/DC. They have alot of different types of music I would say 2112, Counterparts, AFTK & for a "live" version ATWAS 653.gif it is there first live album but it is their best in my opinion unsure.gif

troutman & the beagle trink39.gif

Fly By Night

Hemispheres

Grace Under Pressure

Power Windows

Counterparts

Vapor Trails.....wait for the Remaster tho'

Rush in Rio

...............ooh, you just need to get them all. These are some of the best 653.gif

First off, you're welcome mate.

My advice would be to pick up the "Different Stages" live album - It features a good cross section of their work over the first two CDs, and there's a third disc with a lot of early stuff on it.

In terms of albums, I'd say Hold Your Fire is a good representation of their 80s keyboard orientated phase, Counterparts reflects their return to guitar orientated rock, and for their earlier stuff, assuming you go for Different Stages, the one I'd recommend is A Farewell To Kings.

Hold back on Vapor Trails for a while, as a remastered version is being released by Atlantic in the near future (we hope), and that should sound better than the original.