TRF Remodeling and Repair Requests

afansince74

Tick started a very cool thread earlier today about flooring. And it was so weird, because I was just thinking about this very idea last night and today... about making a thread encompassing any and all home repair, remodeling, new construction, literally anything in residential construction and remodeling. Even tool questions... whatever?

I didn't think I should post that in Ticks thread though. And although I've done several types of flooring before, I respect those who specialize in one discipline, so please refer flooring questions, if any, to the experts here on TRF, Tick and Ladirushfan80, obviously! smile.gif

I'm not sure if anyone else here is, but I'm a general contractor in a small, rural town. Unlike most contractors, however, I (and my business partner, only) pretty much do all the work, from the foundation to the roof and everything in between ourselves. THAT'S why it's so hard for me to spend any time here! sad.gif Seriously!!! I have NO TIME for anything, yet I still read the board in the mornings and again at night, like now. If I had a "real" job (9 to 5, I mean!), I'd have been fired a long time ago for being HOURS late some mornings.... because I'm reading B.S. here that I can't seem to walk away from! Is that irresponsible of me or what!

It really does take all my time though! I do every bit of the designing, estimating, bookeeping, etc., and then have to go build it all too! wacko.gif We subcontract some stuff, but as little as possible! That's our quality control. We touch every single nail, peice of wood, whatever, and we work by ourselves (can't trust anybody we hire, so we don't!). It's slower this way, yes, but at least we know it's done right, AND WE gaurenteed that!