How many hours per day...

Guest Quigley_Moog

Guest Quigley_Moog
...do you think Geddy, Alex, and Neil practiced their instruments when they were learning, to get where they are today? They must have done few other things as teens--ie no parties, homework, or TV watching to get THAT GOOD! laugh.gif I am just curious because I have been playing guitar for nearly seven years now, but I still can't gain much more proficiency. I think the boys must have been pretty much glued to their instruments as young men. Edited by Quigley_Moog

I would have to say yes. but there are always some people who dont need as much practice as others. Myself Ive been playing for around 1.5-2.5 years, im not really sure, but with only 3 months of lessons, ive jumped from barly being able to play, to writing my own music. but remember its allways more hard to play other peoples music.

I would think they practiced a lot!! Myself, playing for 13 years...I get AT LEAST 1 hour a day...But sometimes up to 3 a day.

I wonder if they practice right now? I'm sure not as much as they used to, but do you think they practice at all? I think yes!

Most likley,Im 16 and i havent been playing guitar that long, only 1 3/4 years. so i practice 4-5 hours a day after school to make up for lost time. But i played violin and bag pipes for years, also a little drums.

It is called talent ... they have it. I teach Guitar and bass and I have had students who picked it up quickly and could play pretty much anything I taught with practice. On the other hand, I have taught some who practiced and practiced ... etc ... but just can't get it. They are mechanical and stiff and will never progress past that point. I can pretty much tell from the begining.

Concerning RUSH, you can listen to their albums and hear them get better. Hear them create and develop their own style. Obviously, they were all blessed with an extreme amount of talent and creativity.