any drum technicians on TRF?

I'm just looking for any words of advice on being a drum tech. I live 3 minutes from a new club that has national acts play a couple times a month and they need a drum tech. All I really have to do is fine tune the drums and play them for a preliminary sound check so they can get a good monitor mix and a good main mix without wasting their drummer's arms. It takes only about an hour. For some bands I might have to do a lot more, but faster pussycat was here wednesday and I did their rented DW kit in about an hour. (those cats got kicked out of their hotel room that day! )

Any suggestions /tips from drummers or technicians?

Well, im halfway through a 2 year Music Sound Engineer (Studio Recording) Qualification, and also Im a live drummer. Take your time, make sure it's good quality, and doesn't sound like crap. Find out what the drummer likes / doesn't like.

Also, when sound checking the kit, don't roll on the drums. Hit the drum, let it ring out, then hit it again. Then when the Tech tells you to change drum, change drum.

Edited by Sir Lerxst

QUOTE (Sir Lerxst @ Jan 3 2009, 01:12 PM)
Well, im halfway through a 2 year Music Sound Engineer (Studio Recording) Qualification, and also Im a live drummer. Take your time, make sure it's good quality, and doesn't sound like crap. Find out what the drummer likes / doesn't like.

Also, when sound checking the kit, don't roll on the drums. Hit the drum, let it ring out, then hit it again. Then when the Tech tells you to change drum, change drum.

Oh, very cool! Yeah, I know the part about hit each drum with one hit after another slowly and stuff. the interesting thing I wanted to point out is when I was sound checking for faster pussycat the engineer told me to play some fast stuff on the toms. Then later on he said "play the neil peart stuff again". lol

Thanks for the advice and good luck with your career!