Stockholm reviews?

Xanadu2112

Been listening to Rush since about 1980 but this was my first live performance. Spent many hours listening to Exit - Stage Left when I studied abroad in 83-84 as well as during the weeks leading up to last night's concert in Stockholm, and as a former drummer and guitar player I know just about every beat and lick from that album. In Stockholm the guys were amazingly, astoundingly true to their sound from decades past. The mirror tells us that we have all aged since then, but the ears betray nothing when it comes to these three.

Geddy's vocals were a tad warbly (even for him) during the first song or two, but stabilized nicely once he got warmed up. I expected trouble with some of the high waily stuff this late in the tour, but he delivered nicely all the way to the end, with nothing more than the minor differences that one expects from live v. studio work.

Musically the trio's virtuosity is just breathtaking in person. How three people can do everything necessary (even with sampling and such) to bring all of those different instruments and sounds to bear in a live environment is beyond me. Such a refreshing change from the commercially successful pretty boys and girls who can't even deliver vocals live, let alone play a single instrument.

Sound-wise the Globe arena is notoriously challenging. Our seats were about 10 rows up, center ice, right side. I didn't wander during the concert so I don't know if we were in some acoustic bad spot, but I thought that the bass pedals and keyboards completely overpowered the bass guitar, and that the bass drum was also dialed high enough to detract from Geddy's fretwork.