Time Signatures

Good,bad,andrush

what time signature is Driven? Does anybody know?

The only reasonable thing I can think of is 16/8.

Four sets of triplets (12 notes) followed by four more notes, each individual note having the exact same length as one part of the triplet.

Then the second part of the riff is two sets of triples followed by ten notes, all of equal length.

Also, what is LVS right after Alex's solo?

Edited to say forget the LVS one.

Just give me the Driven time Signature tongue.gif

Edited by Good,bad,andrush

I am a drummer so I can confidently say it is this:

Two measures of 4/4 followed by a 7/4...

Two measures of 4/4 followed by a 6/4

Keep repeating this cycle. There you go:)

Count it like this: one...two...three...four...one...two...three...four...one...two...three...four...five...six...sev

one...two...three...four...one...two...three...four...one...two...three...four....five....six

or just count 15 quarter notes followed by 14 quarter notes if that helps you hear it.

Edited by presto123

QUOTE (presto123 @ Mar 10 2011, 03:00 PM)
I am a drummer so I can confidently say it is this:

Two measures of 4/4 followed by a 7/4...
Two measures of 4/4 followed by a 6/4

Keep repeating this cycle. There you go:)

goodpost.gif

Yes, this is how I count it, too.

thanks guys, that seems correct.

I don't care for tabs; I can figure out the notes and I can play it.

It's just killing me that I don't know the time signature. But I guess I should've realized it was changing time signatures often.

The thing about time signatures is that, when you're covering something and it starts getting like Driven, it's best to just say, "its in whatever time signature makes sense to me."

As long you've got the rhythm worked out, and the pattern in your head actually matches the song, it works.

I'm a drummer, and when I sat down here to count out the intro, it came out:

6/8

6/8

4/4

6/8

4/4

4/4