MarkScudder

So I thought I'd show you an ongoing project I have to build a Hentor Sportscaster for myself.

First of all I'm starting with an Indonesian Squier for two reasons: First, money is tight right now and I can't spend extra on a new guitar itself, and 2. I've never done mods this complex before and I wanted to get it right on a cheap guitar before I do spend money. Now that I've unraveled some of the mysteries of the Sportscaster, I can replace stuff like the body and neck when I can.

So the guitar is a 2001 Indonesian Squier, with two humbuckers. It has a flat/matte black finish and had a black headstock. It also has a two-point trem already on it, as opposed to the six-screw trem standard on most Strats, which makes it slightly closer to a non-fine-tuner Floyd. I was already using this guitar to try out mods, and when I took this picture, I'd already put two push-pull pots in it, for coil cutting on both humbuckers, and a standard Les Paul-style toggle switch, that combines the two pickups in the middle. Had it strung with heavier gauge strings, and was using it for a project in open C tuning.

http://www.markscudder.com/trf/IMG_2671.JPG

I got a set of Planet Waves locking tuners, so I took the original tuners off, sanded down the headstock to bare wood, and installed them. I had another Squier with silver string trees so I replaced the black ones with those.

http://www.markscudder.com/trf/IMG_2675.JPG

I also sanded the back of the neck down at this point, and discovered that Alex was right about that too. The feel is so much better. Smooth, not sticky. May do it on all my guitars.