Computer Audio Trouble

Principled Man

For the past few months, I've been getting random buzzes from the sound system, which is hooked up to my Dell XPS desktop. I fear that it's my sound card, but I have no experience with that part of my computer. My current sound system is a small Logitech 5.1 system. I don't want to go buy a new set of speakers and then find out that it's my sound card.

Anyone have similar troubles? Are there any computer diagnostics that I can do to find out what's causing the buzzes? It's really irritating..... :sarcastic: :sarcastic:

• Like 1

Does the problem happen both when the laptop is plugged in and when it's running on battery? If it only happens when it's plugged in then you may have an issue with that circuit not being grounded correctly. Try plugging it in in another part of the house (different circuit).

Try swapping out the connecting cables to test if that is the problem.

Does the problem happen both when the laptop is plugged in and when it's running on battery? If it only happens when it's plugged in then you may have an issue with that circuit not being grounded correctly. Try plugging it in in another part of the house (different circuit).

Try swapping out the connecting cables to test if that is the problem.

It's a Dell XPS desktop.

I've had the speaker system for at least two years. The buzzing started a couple of months ago.

Edited by Principled Man

Try borrowing some speakers from somewhere or try your ones out on a different computer to see if they're not causing the problems :) . Do you know if your laptop desktop (SORRY!! But the same principles still apply whatever it is) drivers are up to date (you can find out on the Dell website)? Could it be your audio jack connection. They tend to get their wires pulled quite a bit. Edited by LittleRushmonkey