Questions to musicians.

phlaaps

From Phlaaps' message I reckon I am a similarly gifted guitarist wink.gif & never really made it past working out, then playing for the next 30 years, Broons Bane & The Trees. Freewill is also OK until I get to the solo, then I have to start whistling. A few weeks ago while jamming with various friends, we had a go at Leave That Thing Alone, which I found to be achievable (I can't actually play Alex's solo yet but maybe I'll get there one day !).

Also, in the past week I have found footage on You Tube by someone called Blobblob22 of a lot of Rush done on Acoustic guitar, & the chords sound pretty accurate with suspended 4ths & 2nds often appearing instead of straight G5, A5 etc. Here the link to one of his videos...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MX6x0tQMM8g&feature=related

In many ways I am not really bothered that I can rarely manage an Alex solo, as it is his chord work which sets him apart from virtually every other guitarist in the universe, & when I manage to get the chords to any Rush song sounding right, to quote Geddy, that's beauty eh!

...and I may as well be the first in this current thread to say that Alex is without question still the most underrated guitarist in the most unheard of band on the planet !

I improved much my bass playing when I started to listen Rush. At the beginning I was trying to pick up Geddy's stuff, later I was able to play much of the things. I did "Leave that thing alone" with a cover band, also "Alien shore", "YYZ", "Tom Sawyer", "Animate"...of course I don't sing. I actually sing backing vocals but can't do it with playing the bass at the same time. Geddy is a genious...I am not laugh.gif

Right now I work with my own band, doing our music, but I always love to have some fun picking up some Rush songs, or playing the ones I already know. Of course I don't know if I play them right the same way, I never used notes or tabs, I just play what I hear.

My favorite one? YYZ! GeddyFinal.gif