The Pineapple Thief

The Owl

Hello all... Just starting another band discussion thread..

Anyone ever listen to any "The Pineapple Thief"? A band that has been around since 99, and I am just getting into them... I have their album "Tightly Unwound" after noticing it on Progarchives.com.....and I must say this album is f***ing awesome....

The biggest appeal of this great band is their style... they are a great mix of the melodic alternative sound of Radiohead, with a progressive edge of say like Porcupine Tree......

Check em out.

Not bad Owl. I bought all of their records and listened to them all over a couple of days.

I thought they had their moments but overall kind of boring and cliche.

I like their name too but it's very close to Steven's band.

Porcupine Tree and Pineapple Thief. Who's ripping off who?

My new band is called Pelican Toes.

Im digging em'

They are, like I said, like a perfect mix of Porucpine Tree and Radiohead. Hell, the singer even sounds alot like Thom Yorke

All I have is thier latest album......... which is Brilliant...I am likeing it very much.

They are doing a few shows in the Netherlands with Riverside right now...that would be a really good show to see

QUOTE (RUSHHEAD666 @ Oct 28 2009, 12:57 AM)
I totally agree Owl.
When I first listened to this band I actually thought the exact same thing.

Porcupine Tree + Radiohead = Pineapple Thief!

Enjoy!!!!

Get that new Wolfmother dude!

I recommend the owl pick up the new BTBAM. Its amazing.

BTBAM is touring with scale the summit, devin townsend and cynic!

Owl are you still in Nashville area?

I will check out the other PT too!

Yes I am still in Nashville

BTBAM is a band I could never get into....the music is there... but the vocals are a big turn away......... I can stand Mike Akerfeldt's growls (Even Enjoy at times), but not BTBAM's vocalist.....sorry...

....so apparently I am the only one who enjoys "The Pineapple Thief"

QUOTE (The Owl @ Oct 28 2009, 10:20 PM)