Telemark Skiing

tangy

Any other Telemarkers out there?

I've been using telemark skis since 1991, once I tried it, I never used alpine equipment again.

Telemark skis are like beefy x-country skis with metal edges, with the boot attached only at the toe, leavinging the heel free to go up and down. The real beauty of this type of ski is realized in the steep and deep!

from wikipedia

Telemark

The Telemark turn came to the attention of the Norwegian public in 1868, when Sondre Norheim took part in a ski jumping competition. Norheim's technique of fluid turns soon dominated skiing, and in Norway it continued to do well into the next century. Starting in the 1910s, newer techniques based on the stem gradually replaced Telemark in the Alpine countries. Newer techniques were easier to master and enabled shorter turns better suited for steeper alpine terrain and skiing downhill. The Telemark turn became the technique of ski touring in rolling terrain.

The technique is named after the Telemark region of Norway, just as the Stem Christie turn was named after Christiania (now Oslo), Norway. Not only did Sondre Norhiem and his fellow skiers invent the telemark turn, but they used and refined parallel skiing techniques as well. Thus, while the telemark is part of early skiing's foundation, so are parallel techniques of equal importance.

The Telemark Revival

The revival in the Telemark technique, after its decline from popularity in the mid-1940s, first started out in United States in the 1970s. Telemark skiing was a back-to-basics reaction to the high-tech equipment developments of Alpine skiing, and the increasing reliance on crowded groomed pistes (trails). The use of traditional clothing was often (and sometimes still is) part of the Telemark skiing revival.