Stephen King

Rush!

My Mom is a huge fan of King's work & I've been thinking about checking his stuff out. Now, I'm kind of obsessive-compulsive with going in chronological order, so should I start with Carrie and just go on from there? Or does it really matter at all? If it doesn't, I'd like to just start with Carrie and move on from there. Also, I'm only a Sophomore in High School right now, will I be able to understand his books, are there a lot of confusing words/concepts that I won't understand? King's style of suspense/horror writing seems to be great for me. So what are your guys' recommendations?

Also, should I read the book first and THEN see the movie? Or vice/versa?

It really doesn't matter which way you attack them, or whether you've already seen the movie(s). And as a high school soph, you should have no problem reading.

If you're really truly anal about the chronological thing, I believe they go:

Carrie

Salem's Lot

The Shining

The Stand

That should get you started.

the books are always better than the movies, so definately read the books first!!!

Misery is one of my all time favorites....

QUOTE (deadwing2112 @ Sep 26 2006, 09:06 PM)
Start with Desperation.

my all time fav king book yes.gif

His 70s stuff is his best work...

A lot of stuff from the 80s is cool too

Needful Things and Desperation are good...

The Dark Tower series is worth following too...

I notice something about King's writing though from the 90s onward...