My Own Personal Theory...

skullchrist

I have a theory, and my gut is telling me, that in the three and half years that he was fighting this insidious disease that they might have made some kind of music (Or he might have). Therapy music, acoustic music, drum circle music etc. I have no idea. I'm only saying this because as a musician myself I would feel compelled to make one last will and musical testament (And also as we all know music itself can be a type of therapy). It's just kind of hardwired into people that are compelled to make music and there is no logical or rational way to explain it. It's like salmon swimming up stream, they do it because the Universe made them that way.

That being said I also want to say that I have no expectation that this actually happened and/or if it did that it will ever be released. I really just wanted to share my own feelings on the matter during this most difficult time.

Cheers.

RIP Neil Peart

Fly on Astromancer, fly on.

Edited by skullchrist
  • Like 1

Man will I miss his work... 3 weeks later and I find myself still... off.

If I had to guess, I think the last time he picked up sticks was the last show. I don't think he was sick then, but had so many other things he wanted to do. In a tragic twist of fate, if he was diagnosed a a year later, I would bet he spent as much time as he could with his family and on his hobbies while he could. It's awful to think about. Honestly, after reading his last book, and knowing his broad interests, I'd say he didn't want to drum again. He had other mountains to climb. In every sense.

• Like 6

Neil already made his final musical testament with Clockwork Angels. There isn't a much better way to end things than with a song like The Garden. I do think it's possible Neil wrote about what he was going through. Not sure those words would ever see the light of day if they do exist.