Extra $ worth it?

So, 17 year old reporting.

I've been playing bass for around 2 years now, and I feel pretty confident I'll be playing for life, that said, I'm looking for an upgrade.

I'm currently playing on some 100$ Peavy bass, and also a SR370 Ibanez. I love them both, but I'm thinking of getting a Jazz bass.

I'm pretty set on getting a Geddy Lee signature(big step I know) but I'm conflicted, I'm not sure if I should go for the $900 MIM version, or the $1600 MIA. Summer is on the way so I could get a job and feasibly work for the MIA, seeing as none of the money will go to bills (being 17 and such).

I don't spend money on anything else, and though I've heard MIA isn't worth the price hike compared to the MIM, I like the idea of a MIA. What do you guys think? Suggestions for other nice Jazzes other than the Geddy are appreciated too!

There are lower budget J basses that are comparable to the Geddy models. There are Squires with block inlay that are very similar in playability and tone. Go out and play a few. My main bass is a Mexican J that I got used for $200. I also have a Geddy. With Fenders price doesn't always equate to the best instrument. Sometimes the cheap ones can play and/or sound better than more expensive ones.
  • Like 3

I still use the same Squire strat I bought almost 20 years ago. Not exactly proud of it, but it still works for the limited playing that I do. Save your money unless you're getting paying gigs and can pay it off with the gig money.

If you're itching for the Geddy model, exercise some patience and look for a used one and save some bucks. Lots of starving musicians that need to sell stuff to pay rent.

Edited by 2112FirstStreet
  • Like 1

BassMasterGeneral,

Guitars and basses are funny things. Realistically, you need to hold them in your hands to know which one is the right one. You can't go by where it's made, or what it says on the headstock.