Any Linux users?

BigBob

Any Linux users here?

If so what distro/flavor do you use?

And why do you use it?

I've been using Ubuntu 14.04 with the KDE desktop enviroment for work. It works really well for software development.

I've just been Ubuntu 12.04 with the packaged envrioment for home use.

We use it because 2 years ago a Mormon missionary thought he would do us a favor when our USB ports stopped working. I told him all I needed was to be able to access iTunes.

Guess what's the one thing Linux can't do?

Other than that, it's more or less ok. The kids play Animal Jam and Minecraft on it.

• Like 1

I used to use LINUX more... when I was coding for a living. Red Hat, then Fedora.

These days I use these distros, pretty much to try to get away from Windows as much as I can.

Fedora 22 - for any programming I want to do for fun.

Some flavor of Ubuntu.. might be a 12. For web browsing, email, etc.

Both of the above I run in VMWare on a Windows 7 machine. Eventually I will pick one to install on a 5 year old laptop and do away with both VM's, and use for both programming and as an alternative desktop.

In the last 6months I've started toying around with AVLinux - a distro specialized for music production. Just to see how Synths and VST's work on Linux.

I just got a Rasberry Pi, so now I'm also a user of Raspbian. Fun little box, the RasPi. I could tape it to the back of a monitor and call it a poor man's iMac. LOL. Really want to use it as a media server/file server, to replace an old tower PC.

Edited by grep

I just got a Rasberry Pi, so now I'm also a user of Raspbian. Fun little box, the RasPi. I could tape it to the back of a monitor and call it a poor man's iMac. LOL. Really want to use it as a media server/file server, to replace an old tower PC.

I have one myself and had the same idea - will probably set it up as an iSCSI target.