Best way to learn guitar?

Ventris

Ok, so I'm a total noob. I just got a guitar and I am wondering what is the best way to learn. Like, should I just go for lessons somewhere? Should I learn on my own? Through the many resources of the interwebs? Some DVD set out there I should know about? What's the fastest way to memorize the strings and frets? I have a hard time even picking the same string as the one I am holding down without looking. I'm not expecting to play well anytime soon I just need to know where to start. I really want to put this guitar to use, I've given up before but I don't want to do that again. I really hope this doesn't make me sound stupid, so go easy on me.

Find a good teacher in your area. Learning on your own can be good but starting out you need some structure and a direction. It's too easy to say "I'll do it tomorrow" where if you have a weekly appointment scheduled and are paying someone to teach you your motivation and discipline will increase. You can always take what you learn from a teacher and apply that method to your personal learning.
  • Like 4

What they all said.

Nothing like one on one immediate feedback.

You can augment your lessons with free stuff on YouTube. There's tons of great stuff out there.

Also, do yourself a favor and learn some music theory, especially as it pertains to guitar. If you are playing a D9 or an A13, you should know what makes it a 9 or a 13, and how it fits into what you are playing.

Edited by Dr. Sheldon Cooper
  • Like 2

I think lessons are a good idea.....I've been playing for years and never had one, and I'm seriously thinking of getting some, as I seem to have hit a brick wall and haven't really improved for a long time......
  • Like 1

I think lessons are a good idea.....I've been playing for years and never had one, and I'm seriously thinking of getting some, as I seem to have hit a brick wall and haven't really improved for a long time......