Guitar newbie looking for pedal recommendations

sun dog

Hi all, I've been a drummer for 30+ years (and I have v-drums), but I've been venturing into guitar over the last couple of years. It's been great fun trying to reproduce Lerxst, and I'm very happy with the tone that I sort of stumbled into. After a great deal of noodling at the music store, I settled on the DS-1, Tera Echo, Super Chorus and Chorus Ensemble (with stereo output), along with the Noise Suppressor (wonderful, btw) and the tuner. My guitar is a strat. Understanding that I could get closer to his tone with another guitar, along with vintage pedals and/or other brands, I'm cool with just getting somewhere near the vicinity of that tone. My favorite periods are the 80s and VT through CA. I'm just wondering if there are any other Boss pedals that might be worth trying. Maybe compression?

I wouldn't worry about a compressor at this point. I've had two, and sold them both in favor of different OD flavors.

Speaking of OD's, you can't go wrong with a Boss Super Overdrive. I had one for years and loved it. Put a Flanger or Chorus after it, and you have some great Alex tones available.

Alex also used Phasers early on, too. I'm not sure which he used, but any four stage Phaser should do the trick. MXR makes a one knob Phaser that is classic. EHX makes a couple of good Phasers as well. Boss makes a Phase Shifter that does classic Phaser sounds and more.

+1 on the Electric Mistress. It's pretty much essential, along with a chorus and a good delay.

Hartman makes a clone of the old Electric Mistress 18v. I own both and the EHX lives in a box in my closet and the Hartman is on my pedal board. Amazing flanger, not another one on the market that even touches it.

I use a multi effects pedalboard so I don't really use any singular pedals. However, I really like the Boss CH-1 Super Chorus or the Boss CE-3 Chorus, Boss SD-1, and of course, the MXR Phase 90.