geddy's R40 gear rundown

maxbeckmann

hi,

in response to a previous question i asked here, we now have a glimpse at geddy's rig for the last tour.

an interview with geddy's bass tech skully.

http://www.notreble.com/buzz/2015/08/06/geddy-lees-r40-tour-gear-rundown/

i am not a pro. i understand he basically uses the same stuff as the previous tour i.e. : orange amp, sansamp, palmer speaker simulator.

i notice the rivera rock crusher he is using is now the "recording" version.

can anyone tells me the difference between this rig and the one he used on the previous tour ?

i hear skully saying something about a vintech. what is this ?

any help would be much appreciated.

best regards,

mB

The Vintech is a mic pre amp with Neve "style" EQ. Probably used for signal level strength control between devices and EQ.

The Avalon is more of a DI but it does have peramp capability. Probably in a similar place in the multiple signal paths. I mean he has multiple wireless receivers set up for parallel paths as well as a splitter. That tells me at least 4 paths. Edited by CygnusX-1Bk2

thanks. but i am more interested in his amp rig than his bassextravagansa ! (although there are a lot of sweeties in his collection)

Gotcha.

No worries, I've been seeking for that particular tone for years, too.

"It's all in your fingers" is somewhat correct. ;)

Especially when you split your signal 4 times...
  • Like 1

thanks. but i am more interested in his amp rig than his bassextravagansa ! (although there are a lot of sweeties in his collection)

Gotcha.

No worries, I've been seeking for that particular tone for years, too.

"It's all in your fingers" is somewhat correct. ;)

thank god i am not alone in this quest. i know a lot comes from the fingers but i just cannot believe that gear has not a prominent role in tone.

i also know that cygnusX is not with us on that topic even if he is probably correct.

let's spend even more money on gear !!!!!

Edited by maxbeckmann