Best albums for a new fan?

Polaris

Hey everyone, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to Rush! I've known of their hits but never dug deep until recently. Wow, I underestimated these guys! I have the debut, Fly By Night, Moving Pictures, and Signals. Great records! Where do I go from here? Should I pick up some of their later experimental stuff or keep going with the classics for now? I really dig the music of the latter two albums.

The Big 3

A Farewell To Kings, Hemispheres, Permanent Waves

And then 2112

Yes absolutely. These for sure. You can get them in any order really but the way Lucas put it will definitely work.

• Like 1

Because of your picture, i would go for their heaviest: Clockwork Angels and Snakes and Arrows.

The Big 3

And then 2112

This is not a bad idea either

I wouldn't go for anything made after 1985 just yet. Wait till your fandom is cemented before attempting the "lost years". Lucas has it right however but since you have the Debut and FBN I would also at this point grab All The World's A Stage. You will never ever regret it... :) Edited by Narps
  • Like 1

Because of your picture, i would go for their heaviest: Clockwork Angels and Snakes and Arrows.

Don't let yourself be fooled, Polaris, these are not their heaviest albums, not even close. They just have that modern "wall of sound" with lots of layers and compression, which some people funnily perceive as heaviness. In fact there are only very few songs on these album that can be considered somewhat heavy as in heavy metal or hard rock heavy. Their heaviest albums would be Caress of Steel, 2112 and Hemispheres, but of course they never really played metal.

Otherwise I agree with Lucas' recommendation. I would also include Caress of Steel.

Edited by Irenicus
  • Like 3

I would recommend Permanent Waves

+1

Polaris, if you liked MP and Signals the best then Permanent Waves would be next. Then I would go Grace Under Pressure which has a dark/heavy feel to it.

DETH!!!

• Like 1