Earplugs at shows?

Gilbertk

I've been using Hearos High Fidelity series for several years now. I barely insert them and they don't block or distort any sound. Without them my hearing would deteriorate over the course of a show to the point that by the end the sound would be muddled. The Hearos have eliminated this. The last song now sounds as good as the first. They are available on Amazon. Edited by Faithless Mover

An absolute must for me. I get the foam ones from CVS. They actually help serve as a sound filter. I will take them off for certain songs just to get the full effect but no way in hell I go to a show without them, especially on the floor. Those subs will kill your ears.

Correct me if I am wrong, but don't you feel subwoofers through your body, rather than hearing them through your ears?

Speaking as a drummer, yes - absolutely wear ear plugs! But don't take it from me, take it from Neil (I realize this was circa 1994; he now uses in-ear or over-ear monitors as well, as was discussed during his ear infection issues on the TM tour):

http://www.andrewolson.com/Neil_Peart/writing/postcards/images/pc2back.jpg

• Like 2

I do, and I prefer them now. It's so much better to not wake up to ears ringing in the morning like I did in the past. I can only imagine how much I must have damaged my hearing and am sorry I didn't do it years ago. Your hearing is worth protecting, even if it is Rush.
  • Like 1

I do, and I prefer them now. It's so much better to not wake up to ears ringing in the morning like I did in the past. I can only imagine how much I must have damaged my hearing and am sorry I didn't do it years ago. Your hearing is worth protecting, even if it is Rush.

wore em to both my Rush shows.

No shame here.

Mick

• Like 1