Best Use of Hi-Hat in a Rush song

savagegrace26

That's the bass drum. Neil has one foot on the bass drum pedal, the other on the hi-hat pedal, and the faster, repetitive rhythm of the cymbal sound is what he's playing with the sticks.

How does he do it? It's not like each of these is doing the same thing. To my ears (and I may be wrong since I am not a musician), it sounds like each one is a different beat. How does he not get confused and lose what sounds like different beats?

It is a trickier rhythm than it sounds, to get it down exactly. And I am a drummer...but I'm not Neil. Hahaha. I can do a reasonable facsimile of what he does in that song. It isn't just in the beginning, but the sound of the hi-hat is also prominent in the refrain (beginning with "He's not afraid of your judgment")...

To answer your question, playing the drums, and especially playing what Neil and other consummate professional drummers play, is a matter of having concise control over both arms and both legs- all of them doing different things at the same time.

That last line is it and how I have heard it and marveled how any human being could have such concentration that they could do it and not mess up. To me, all it would take is a momentary distraction to lose the concentration and destroy the song.

That's the bass drum. Neil has one foot on the bass drum pedal, the other on the hi-hat pedal, and the faster, repetitive rhythm of the cymbal sound is what he's playing with the sticks.

How does he do it? It's not like each of these is doing the same thing. To my ears (and I may be wrong since I am not a musician), it sounds like each one is a different beat. How does he not get confused and lose what sounds like different beats?