Freekin WOW!!! I need GUIDANCE into my new world of RUSH.

NewRUSHfan

I am 39, I am a musician, and I love hard rock. Why the hell am i just NOW realizing that this band absolutely KICKS ASS!!!!!!!!! I mean WOW!!! I saw RUSH: Live In Cleveland on VH1 and it was like an epiphany. Luckily I DVR'd it and I can NOT stop watching it now. What is the matter with me? Or should I say......what HAS BEEN the matter with me? Why did it take me this long to realize that these guys are amazing musicians? I have been missing out. But it is better late than never. Now I need someone to guide me into the world of RUSH. What CD's do I buy first? What DVD's should I buy first? I love live performances and from what I understand, and from what I have seen, this band is incredible live. So if someone could point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it.
  • Like 12

Before anyone jumps in and says you should start with any particular record, I'll say let your own ears guide you. Their catalog is so big that it's impossible for all Rush fans to agree on every single thing Rush. My own Rush journey started with one record at the time. I found one and listened to it, and if I liked it at this particular moment I would buy it.

Welcome aboard and have fun :)

• Like 6

Start with Hemispheres. Then move on to 2112 (side one only), A Farewell to Kings (esp. Xanadu), then move on to Permanent Waves and Moving Pictures.

If you're going to start with songs, begin with Xanadu, then move on to La Villa Strangiato, 2112, and Natural Science.

Forget they recorded anything between 1985 and 2010.

• Like 3

Start with the live albums All The World's A Stage and Exit...Stage Left, see what songs you like most and get the studio versions. That's just my 2 Cents.

Welcome to the show. :cheers:

• Like 6

Welcome and great first post.

Here's my choices...

A Farewell to Kings (1970s)

Grace Under Pressure (1980s)

Counterparts (1990s)

Clockwork Angels (2000s)