Anybody Else Burnt Out On The Whole Catalog?

presto123

I find it kind of weird that I very rarely am in the mood to listen to Rush anymore. How many times can you hear these songs before you know every nuance, every lyric, every drum beat and fill and guitar solo. Don't get me wrong, Rush are still my fav band and always will be(heck...they are the reason I'm a musician), but that goosebump factor that attracted me to the band so long ago had been diminished somewhat by over-exposure to this great catalog. I'm sure others that have been fans since the 70's or 80's have to know what I'm talking about. I almost envy the newer Rush fans that are about to embark on the discovery.

I remember it well. Even doing odd jobs so I could get the cash to discover the next Rush album I didn't yet have and racing home wondering what amazement was soon to come forth from my stereo speakers. Losing it seems like an apt title. I can never get back the magic of discovering these songs for the first or even 20th time. LOL Taking a long break from Rush(which I'm currently in) probably helps so we'll see how it sounds once my hiatus is over. Anybody relate?

Please share your stories of first discovering Rush if you are so inclined. I like hearing about how others discovered the magic:)

• Like 4

Funny, I've just posted a thread asking how and when others discovered the magic.

i am still very much at the stage where I'm discovering it, but I'm scared that some day I will lose it. I am trying to limit how much Rush I listen to and make myself listen to other music too. Only trouble is, at the moment no other bands come close to Rush. Long may it last.

• Like 2

Funny, I've just posted a thread asking how and when others discovered the magic.