The Weapon 2015

RushIslander

I just noticed something today while I was watching Grace Under Pressure. When Neil does this song, he put on headphones (with his little red baseball cap :) ) which he promptly removed when the song was over. Does anyone here know why he wore them for The Weapon? I suspect it was so he could better concentrate on his drums which, in this song, have little to do with what Alex or Geddy are doing, but what do I know?

I am no musician as anybody around here knows but my youngest elder brother was. He explained something to me way back then when I got the album. It has something to do with syncopation if I recall. He is playing something off of what they are and if he was to hear them it would screw him up. I could be wrong however and I am sure someone around here will correct me pretty quickly if I am... :)

syn·co·pa·tion

noun \ˌsiŋ-kə-ˈpā-shən, ˌsin-\

music : musical rhythm in which stress is given to the weak beats instead of the strong beats

Full Definition of SYNCOPATION

:
a temporary displacement of the regular metrical accent in music caused typically by stressing the weak beat

:
a
rhythm, passage, or dance step

syn·co·pa·tive adjective

http://www.merriam-webster.com/styles/default/images/reference/external.jpg See syncopation defined for English-language learners »

See syncopation defined for kids »

First Known Use of SYNCOPATION

Narps, a big :hug2: and smooch :kisshug: for you! Then my ears didn't deceive me. That makes me happy.

• Like 1

I just noticed something today while I was watching Grace Under Pressure. When Neil does this song, he put on headphones (with his little red baseball cap :) ) which he promptly removed when the song was over. Does anyone here know why he wore them for The Weapon? I suspect it was so he could better concentrate on his drums which, in this song, have little to do with what Alex or Geddy are doing, but what do I know?