Did Alex rip off the ending riff in Xanadu

losingit2k

Did Alex rip the ending Riff to Xanadu?  

34 members have voted

1. 1. Did Alex rip the ending Riff to Xanadu?

• Yes
    • No

Xanadu takes a bite off of the Journey song "Nickel and Dime" Listen at 1:04. The song was recorded before AFTK. Of course RUSH made the riff 1000% times better! I still think Neal Schon is still soar about the success of Xanadu since he actually mentioned it live the last time they played it about three tours ago.I think the show where Alex pulled of this elaborate caper was during the 2112 Tour on April 28th, 1976 in Flint Michigan at IMA auditorium. Decide for yourself!

Whatever. It happens. If any thing was intentional they didn't rip off the SONG. Stuff like this happens all the time, since the beginning of writing music. The freakin' "ABC Song" is "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star".
  • Like 5

I'm no musician Lord knows, but I don't hear it. BTW, I was a big Journey fan in high school. This was in and around the Infinity era. Saw them 3 times and thoroughly enjoyed them. :codger: I think my now grown daughter is a bigger fan than I am. She loves her Journey's greatest hits for sure.
  • Like 1

Sounds like the same chords and almost the same arpeggio. So yeah I guess I understand why Neil Schon is sour about it, but a complete rip off it's not.

Thanks TAG. Love that word in all it's forms.... :dweez: :codger:
  • Like 1

Sounds like the same chords and almost the same arpeggio. So yeah I guess I understand why Neil Schon is sour about it, but a complete rip off it's not.

Thanks TAG. Love that word in all it's forms.... :dweez: :codger:

It is a great word indeed :yes: :D

• Like 1

Alex LifeSchon.... Geez, this really is terribly disappointing for me. I always believed that this beautiful sound was exclusive to, and trademark of Alex. Its unmistakable.

It will taint me everytime I listen to Hemispheres. Wish I never found this thread. Feel sick....

Edited by GeminiRising79