Working out

Ok. Lets talk about fitness. I have been truly fit probably twice in my adult life. When I was was young I was always thin and could eat whatever I wanted and stay that way. As I got older this changed without me really even noticing at first. When I was in my early 30's and looking at photo's of myself, it really surprised me. Damn I look fat! I don't look like the image I have of myself. I weighed 150 when I graduated high school. I weighed 200 when in my early 30's. I proceeded to diet and work out like a demon. Lifting weights and swimming. I got down to 160 in a matter of 4 months. This was in the early 90's and AIDS was all over the place and my friends and co-workers thought I was sick or something. They would always say "you aren't fat" or "you weren't fat". They would say "you look good to me". I knew better. Anyway, as happens to most over many years I added the weight back on. I am now 53 and in February I weighed about 210 and people would tell me the same thing. Deep down I knew better. I hand hand surgery in March and in the 2 months following the surgery I got up to about 220. When the cast was removed from my hand at the beginning of May I said to myself "enough of this". I started to walk every day and couldn't go very far at first but I stuck with it. Changed my diet and kept walking. About 2 months ago I joined a gym and have been walking and working out there. Anyway, I am now down to 185 and I feel great! This is only the beginning and I will never go back. The feeling of looking in that mirror and putting on my clothes has never been more enjoyable. My energy level is greater and my mood has changed for the better as well. Getting and being fit is the best thing I could have ever done for myself. Nothing in this life worth having is ever easy. If you are or were in the same position I was, just remember it can be done and you will be amazed at how you feel when you do it. :codger:
  • Like 1