Progressive Music

ok so i know all of you guys love that one progressive rock band that started in the 70's and had three guys, the one where like one of the dude played bass and keyboard and the drummer dude wrote really good lyrics and the guitarist kicked butt...what was their name again? tongue.gif

but anyway, what other kind of progressive music do you guys like?

i'm pretty new to prog actually, but it's very quickly becoming my fav kind of music. of course i love rush, they're one of my fav bands, and Dream Theater is one of my fav bands too, so recently i've decided i wanna get into more prog like Rush and Dream Theater. i haven't seriously got into any new bands yet but i have like a song or two from several bands that i'm really liking. so far i've liked all prog i've heard.

my sister has a Symphony X cd (V: The New Mythology Suite) which totally rocks, and she has a couple Savatage cds too which are really good (i love the song Damien).

recently i've downloaded Betrayal and Pride by a band called Ayreon that's really good, and Operation: Mindcrime by Queensryche and i love that song too.

also on my computer i've got Sacrement of the Wilderness by Nightwish that's really good, and Kazzman sent me March of Mephisto, Memento Mori, and Center of the Universe by a band called Kamelot that totally rocks. he also sent me another nightwish song but i haven't gotten around to dl'ing it from the email yet.

so what other kinds of prog do you guys like?

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply
i MUCH more prefer 70's progressive rock, the vintage golden age stuff, as opposed to the new wave of prog music. are you interested in that - if so, I could give some recommendations, but as for newer stuff, i personally can't help...

Rush formed in 1968 I think.

Anyways,

Yes (Tales From Topographic Oceans, Going For the One)

King Crimson (In the Court of the Crimson King)

Dream Theater (Images and Words, Awake)